Character Quotes, Dellani Oakes, Uncategorized

Character Scene from Bad Medicine by Dellani

Bad Medicine is the sequel to Bad Fallcharacter-quotes-image

“I had in mind to go see Dr. Kinkaid,” Frank said. “Seems to me that the ranking officer should talk to the lady’s doctor.”

“Agreed. Is he here right now?”

“Let’s find out.” Frank whipped out his phone, dialing. “Hi, Frank Atherton. I need to speak to Dr. Kinkaid.” He paused a moment, smile fading ever so slightly. “Well, get him back, Sunshine” he replied after a few moments passed. “Because I said so. Now. Please.” He put his phone in his pocket. “He went out for a smoke, but he’ll be right back.”

Sutherland stopped walking, staring at him with her mouth open. “Does everyone jump when you say jump?”

Frank stopped, hand on his tie, puzzled frown creasing his face. “They do if they’re smart.”

Rita Sutherland planted her feet, leaning forward aggressively. “Mr. Atherton, if you rule your people by bullying—”

Holding up his hand, Frank took a step back from her. “Whoa. Where did that come from? I don’t bully my staff. They know what’s expected of them and they do it. If they fail to meet expectations, I fire them.”

“That’s a form of bullying,” she replied, arms folded across her chest.

“No, ma’am. That’s effective leadership. I do what I say I will. They do what I ask them to.” He shrugged.

“It still sounds rather oppressive to me.”

Frank closed his eyes, shaking his head. “I’m sorry you feel that way, Detective. Let me ask you this—when you tell your officers to jump, do they argue with you?”

“No, if they do, they know I’ll write them up.”

Frank held out his hands as if that explained his point. “Only difference here is that I can fire them. I do my job to the best of my ability. I expect the same from them. I set high standards, and I get them.”

Sutherland couldn’t argue that logic. It was exactly what she expected from her subordinates. “But a doctor? You order him around too?”

“Yeah, ain’t it great?” He slowly winked one big, brown eye and Detective Sutherland felt weak. He has to do that shit on purpose.

© 2017 Dellani Oakes

To Buy Dellani’s Books

For More About Dellani

Leave a Reply

