Cereal Authors, Character Quotes, Karen Vaughan, Laura & Gerry series

A SHORT EXCERPT FROM DEAD TO WRITES BY KAREN VAUGHAN(UNPUBLISHED W.I.P)–LAURA HAS A CLOSE ENCOUNTER WITH SOMETHING STRANGE!

pizap.com14711837548421   A SUCCESSFUL AUTHOR IS KILLED IN HER PRIME TO KEEP A NASTY DEED FROM BEING EXPOSED! 

A NEW TENANT WITH A SPECIAL SET OF SKILLS!

LAURA ADJUSTS TO MOTHERHOOD AND PETE AND ELAINE MAKE IT OFFICIAL.

AS USUAL COOKIE THE CORPSE MAGNET HAS HER HANDS FULL.

The door wasn’t closed well so I stepped in and called out, “Myrna, are you here?  It’s Laura.  Can I come in?  I just wanted to check on you after we talked yesterday.”

 

There was still no answer.  She might have been napping but I wanted to be sure.  There was no one in her room, but I could hear chanting from the second bedroom.  Maybe she was meditating.  The door was slightly ajar and I could see her standing there in front of some sort of altar.  What surprised me was that Myrna was buck naked, holding a scepter over her head in her left hand, and doing God knows what with the other one as I couldn’t see it.  Part of me did not want to disturb her ritual, but I just had to know what was going on.  Maybe Mrs. Rodriguez was right thinking that Myrna might be a witch.

 

I knocked a bit louder this time.  Myrna jumped and turned around, startled.

 

“Oh damn, you caught me!  This is most embarrassing.  Can you wait in the living room while I get dressed dear?”

 

“Sure.”  I backed away uncertain whether I really wanted to know, but me being the curious one, sat down in her living room trying to pull myself together.  I remembered then I’d left Maggie in her crib, so I yelled out to Myrna,  “Just meet me down in my apartment.  We can have tea and talk about it then, okay?? I have to go check on Maggie.”

 

“Okay Laura” she hollered.  “I’ll be right down.”

 

I ran to the elevator.  Maybe I should just forget this whole thing, but the image of a septuagenarian standing naked in a room chanting was a lot to take in and some things just cannot be unseen.

 

I was holding Maggie while getting her bottle warmed when Myrna knocked and walked in.  I put the kettle on for tea and deposited the baby in her bouncy chair as she drank her bottle.  Myrna sat at the table but didn’t say much until I brought the teapot and the cookies over.

 

“I am so embarrassed,” she said.  “I didn’t realize my door was unlocked.”

 

“That’s okay Myrna, I really should’ve come back later.  I was concerned about you after you talked about seeing and hearing Larry’s spirit in the apartment.  I just wanted to check on you, to make sure you’re okay.”

 

 Myrna looked at me.  “Oh sure he’s there, but I’ve just accepted the fact that I kind of have a roommate.  I’m just hoping that Roger doesn’t get jealous.”

 

I just had to ask.  “Myrna, are you Wiccan?”

 

She just looked at the table and nodded.

 

There’s nothing to be ashamed of Myrna.  A lot of people practice that but I’m just not really sure what it involves.”

 

“Well, what I was doing there, not too many people practice.  I was having a conjugal visit with Roger.  I might be 75, but I still get my urges every now and then.  He might be dead, but I’m not.  The scepter I was holding was a representation of his phallic symbol and I was… well, you get the picture.”

“Let me get this straight.  You were having sex with the ghost?”

Myrna smiled at the memory.  “A very spirited one at that!”

COMING SOON AS SOON AS I FINISH IT.

3 thoughts on “A SHORT EXCERPT FROM DEAD TO WRITES BY KAREN VAUGHAN(UNPUBLISHED W.I.P)–LAURA HAS A CLOSE ENCOUNTER WITH SOMETHING STRANGE!”

Leave a Reply

