Character Quotes

Character Quotes from Backdrop to Love by Dellani

character-quotes-imageThere was a faint noise behind her and Chet walked in. He was wearing a pair of baggy shorts and nothing else. He was taller than she’d realized. Of course, she’d seen him lying down in bed, not a fair way to judge. Probably about six feet, he was broad shouldered and built like a swimmer.

Bronze skin covered the muscles on his chest and abdomen. These were nicely delineated, well chiseled and rock hard. A tattoo of some kind peeked over the top of his shorts, dropping down where she couldn’t see it. She didn’t want to stare to pick out details, but it looked like the head of a dragon.

“Sorry about the misunderstanding,” Chet said with a smile. “Martha isn’t the most reliable. She probably did tell you to use my room, not thinking that I was already in it. I was out of town until yesterday, so she wouldn’t have had me on her mind.”

“It’s okay. I’m so sorry I threw my shoe at you. You scared the hell out of me.”

“I have that effect on women. If I had a nickel for every shoe that’s been thrown at me. Well, I’d have a nickel.” He chuckled as he sat down on the chair next to her. “So, is Honey short for something? Or do your parents have an odd sense of humor?”

“A little of both, I think,” she smiled. “It’s short for Honoria. I’m not really sure why, they never bothered to explain where they got the name from. Everyone always calls me Honey.”

© 2017 Dellani Oakes

To Buy Dellani’s Books

For More About Dellani

Leave a Reply

