Character Quotes

Character Quotes from New at Love by Dellani

character-quotes-image“I’ve got a problem, Mandy. I was supposed to sub tomorrow for an English teacher at the high school.” He coughed and sneezed. “Only you hear me? I’ve been like this since last night. You were the only person I could think of who could take this for me.”

“Evan!” She was understandably annoyed. He did this to her fairly often. “Is there a big race at the track? Is that why you’re faking a cold?”

“Seriously, Mandy.” He sneezed again. “This is for real. I picked up something when I was in the kindergarten last week. I can’t shake it.” He blew his nose, sounding very authentic. “I’ve been sleeping all day, guzzling chicken soup and popping vitamin C trying to kick this, and I can’t. Please? I’m begging.”

“You owe me dinner,” she said grudgingly. “Steak, all the fixings.”

“When I’m not dying of the rot, I’ll take you out. Scout’s honor.”

“You were never a Boy Scout,” she teased.

“Shows what you know,” he coughed loudly. “Eagle Scout, so there!”

“Go back to bed, Ev. I’ll take it for you. Which teacher?”

“Tyler. She’s out with this same crap.”

“She’s got seniors, right?”

“Yeah. I was looking forward to it. Some of those chicks are smokin’ hot!”

“And way too young for you. Ev, you’re forty.”

“Doesn’t mean I can’t dream! Oh, the kind of naughty dreams I’d have if I were well.”

“Go to bed, old man.”

“Young whipper snapper. I swear, if I were ten years younger….”

“You’d still be too old for me.”

Evan laughingly hung up.

© 2017 Dellani Oakes

To Buy Dellani’s Books

For More About Dellani

New at Love can be read in its entirety in MJ Magazine

complied by Fran Lewis

Leave a Reply

