Character Quotes

Character Quotes from Blacksmith’s Heart by Dellani

character-quotes-image“Those kids are crazy,” Enid remarked, shaking her head. “It’s not so many years ago they were playing tag. Now they’re fooling around. Life passes too fast. I can’t keep up anymore.”

“Auntie, you’re still young. You’re only sixty-eight.”

“I feel a million years old. Too many years of abuse on this body, it’s aged me. People twenty years older are in better shape than I am.”

“You’ll be running circles around them in no time.”

“I hope you’re right.”

“Of course I am. If you don’t quit your belly achin’ I’m gonna have to smack you a change of expression.”

Enid started to giggle. “Only you can say that to me and get away with it.”

“That’s cause I love you so much.”

Aunt Enid’s eyes glittered with tears. “And that’s why I love you so much. You have a way of reminding me what’s important.”

“I know this has been hard on you, Auntie, but once you’ve rested and start your therapy, you’ll soar. You’re too damn stubborn to let this get you. And you’ll have me here to kick your bony ass when you start bitching again.”

“Dear God, child, this is a side of you I haven’t seen. You become more like me daily. How refreshing!”

“Some would call it terrifying,” Hana said with a glitter in her eye. “Mom, for instance, would find this side of me perplexing in the extreme.”

“Your mother—!” Enid rolled her eyes in expiration. “You’re completely different now that you aren’t having to live to fit her image.”

“When I’m around her, I turn into this zomboid. I hear myself saying things I’d never in a million years say.”

“Interesting new word. Zomboid?”

Hana giggled, covering her mouth so she wouldn’t spew on the table. “The beauty of the English language is that you can make up words and it’s okay. You understand me, right?”

“I do, indeed. I couldn’t have put it better myself. Your mother is the robot Nazi. And I say that with all the love possible.”

© 2017 Dellani Oakes

To Buy Dellani’s Books http://www.amazon.com/Dellani-Oakes/e/B007ZQCW3A/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1464388230&sr=8-2

For More About Dellani http://www.dellanioakes.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

