Character Quotes, Dellani Oakes

Character Quotes from Car Trouble by Dellani

character-quotes-imageKent Mason is an up and coming author. On his way home from a tri-state book signing tour, his car conks out only 22 miles from home. It’s night and it’s raining. A call to his roadside assist assures him that help is on the way. What he didn’t expect was that help would be in the form of Calliope Jacoby. She agrees to take him home, but before that, they stop for coffee.

Calliope grinned, taking a sip of her coffee.

I sipped mine too, stinging my mouth. Gasping, I gulped my water to cool my blistered tongue. Eyes watering, I stirred my coffee and took a bite of my pie.

“I should have warned you. It’s the hottest coffee I’ve ever had. I don’t know how they do it.”

“Pass it through a nuclear generator,” I speculated. “Dear God, that’s hot! Now that I’ve nearly killed myself, any warning about the pie?”

Calliope giggled, shaking her head. “I haven’t hurt myself on the pie yet. Though apple… You never know with apple. They might have dropped a hand grenade in there.”

© 2016 Dellani Oakes

To Buy Dellani’s Books

For More About Dellani

1 thought on “Character Quotes from Car Trouble by Dellani”

Leave a Reply

