Heather Poinsett Dunbar, Musings, Sharing, Writing Process

Writing Process: Drafting methods panel program but what’s your process?

How do you draft your manuscript?

And how did I get interested in this topic?

I thought it might be interesting to share some methods Chris and I use and see what other authors do.

First …a little background.

At some cons Chris and I wind up as guests on several panels.  I’m not sure sometimes how we got pegged as experts on anything.  Ha!

At the last con, I wound up on a panel for a workshop on drafting and we had to come up with what we do to draft our works, which is weird for anyone writing with a partner.  Chris and I threw together a powerpoint presentation because that’s what he and I do to stay on track in a panel, otherwise we tend to get easily distracted by shiny things and digress a lot.

We have several presentations like this.  Some new authors think they’re great because it’s sort of organized instead of just a bunch of people at a table throwing out ideas and most panel goers don’t have a notepad with them..They can take a packet, write notes on it, etc.

Unfortunately the rest of the panel decided to spend 2 hours talking about their publishing experiences, editors, and their local writing group who seemed to mostly be interested in tearing up authors works in progress instead.  I was the one indie author in a crowd of traditional authors from another city who all knew each other.  Since I run a booth with the hubby and a few minions (Yes, I actually have a minion who cosplays as a minion at cons – LOL), I generally spend most of my time there at the booth and can’t mingle or network at most cons.  I’m sure I miss out on some great conversations, but honestly I’d rather send the hubby to deal with that sometimes.

So here’s our program.  I hope you all find it useful or at least interesting how two people can work out a way to draft manuscripts together.  Maybe if you’re stuck on your manuscript, it may give you an alternative or two to try.

Writing and Drafting Methods

However, I still would love to hear about what you do.  Do you have a set process for drafting?

Maybe it’s time to start a dialogue about our processes?  🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Writing Process: Drafting methods panel program but what’s your process?”

  1. I am a total pantser I get an idea and I write the premise down. Then I just write, spell checking after ever session. I just write and leave the editing til the end by a beta reader and a proofreader. Then I revise and edit again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

