Dellani Oakes

Lone Wolf Coming Soon with New Covers

Beautiful New Cover by Suzette Vaughn
Beautiful New Cover by Suzette Vaughn

As some of you know, I am reissuing four of my books since cutting my ties with my former publisher. Until today, I have refrained from saying why I got my book rights back, but I can no longer be silent.

I was cheated.

Yes, it pains me to say it, to think that I was taken in, but I (and several more authors) were lied to and cheated out of our money—money we earned, deserved and promoted for. At first, this publisher seemed on the up and up, and for awhile, it was. It was a gradual slide. I saw my royalty checks dwindle and stop altogether. I thought I simply wasn’t promoting enough, so I kicked it up a notch, still nothing. Then, the company declared bankruptcy. It took months to get my book rights back, and I never did get all my money from the company. I chalked that up to experience.

I have not openly bad mouthed this individual, and I probably won’t, as I consider that bad form. (I also don’t want to get sued) However, I warn all would-be authors to beware! There are unscrupulous people out there who will spin you a lie, exploit your dreams and take advantage of your good nature. Sadly, there are a lot of these thieves out there, but I never thought it would happen to me.

Though I got my book rights back, it has taken me quite awhile to feel comfortable putting these books (my babies) back into the public eye. To help move myself forward, I got glorious new covers done for my sci-fi books, thanks to the wonderful and talented Suzette Vaughn. You can check out her work here. 

All this being said, my books are still for sale on Amazon, in paperback. Apparently, the publisher decided to sell his back stock of my books. If you don’t see THIS COVER on the book, I’m not going to get paid for it. Since anyone can sell used books on Amazon, mine will probably continue there for some time.

If you’re pursuing publication, be careful. There are many fantastic, legitimate, honorable publishers out there. Don’t jump at the first offer, and look carefully for the right fit for you. This goes not only for publishers, but agents.

Lone Wolf will debut with the new, exciting cover, in mid-June. Look for Shakazhan and The Maker later this summer. And if the stars align properly, I will issue The Kahlea-Book Four, in the early fall.

And remember, if it hasn’t got this cover, it’s not an authorized Dellani Oakes edition.

lone wolf first four covers

5 thoughts on “Lone Wolf Coming Soon with New Covers”

Leave a Reply

