Dellani Oakes, Sea of Destiny

Sea of Destiny – Part 44

sea of destiny coverFor those who have been faithfully following this story, I apologize for moving it again. I wanted something special to share here at Cereal Authors, so I decided to use this. Please forgive me and thank you for your support.

Deciding that truth is his best course of action, Kyle goes to see Emily. Dr. West wants to know what’s wrong, but Kyle asks that he be allowed to talk to her.

 

 

Kyle sighed. “I’ve been through this way too many times today, Doc. I want the next person I talk to about it to be Emily. But you need to be there.”

The doctor frowned. “It’s that bad?”

“Potentially.” He wouldn’t say anything more.

Amazingly, the doctor accepted that and didn’t push for answers.

The reception concluded around three so the staff could clean up and set the dining room for dinner. Kyle’s family took off to different activities while he followed Emily, Adam and the doctor to her cabin. He tried to act natural, but it was hard. Sooner or later, Emily was going to notice and he dreaded telling her more than he had anything in his life. Even telling his mother Margo was pregnant hadn’t scared him this much. Finding out his wife was dying hadn’t cut his soul the way this did.

All the niceties were said, the staff had gone and only the four of them sat around chatting quietly. Kyle felt the silence between remarks vibrate against him. He could feel frustration and doubt slamming into him from Adam. From the doctor, curiosity and worry. Emily was charming, beautiful, laughing. His face must have given something away, or maybe she picked up on the vibe from the others, because she stopped mid-laugh with a puzzled frown.

“What’s wrong? What aren’t the three of you telling me?”

The other men looked at Kyle.

“Don’t panic, Emily. You’re fine. You’re better than fine. You got your miracle,” Kyle said.

“Then what’s wrong? Are you sick? One of the children?”

“No.”

She started to ask another question, but that made it more difficult. Before she got more worked up, he knew he had to tell her. He started with meeting the priest the day before, sensing something he couldn’t place. He told her about the conversation he had with Fr. Michael after her healing as well as the further discussion that morning. Her eyes grew troubled.

“Why are you telling me all this, Kyle? What are you hiding from me?”

He sighed, running his hands through his hair. “I didn’t deal with his little announcement too well last night.”

“Okay….”

He stopped, unsure how to tell her. Anything he said was going to make her angry. It was tearing his world apart, yet the words wouldn’t come out. Dr. West saw his distress and took Adam to the other room. He knew Kyle wanted him close, but he knew it would be easier to say what was on his mind without them there judging him while he passed judgement on himself.

“I did something stupid last night, Emily. The dumbest thing I ever did in my life. I was hurt and angry, in complete annihilation and self-destruct mode when I left you.”

“What did you do?” It came out in a choked, half whisper, barely audible.

“I got very drunk, probably the most I’ve had to drink in years. But I wasn’t drinking alone. I got talking to someone in the bar.”

“A female someone?” Her lips snapped together angrily.

He nodded.

“And this female someone seduced you?”

“Pretty much the opposite, I think. I can’t remember very clearly. Tequila is not my friend.”

“So you slept with this female someone?”

He nodded again, the tears burning the back of his eyes. “Not a lot of sleep involved, Em.”

“Don’t talk to me! Don’t even breathe near me! How could you? When you knew what he did to me? You swore you weren’t like Bob, but the moment I needed you, you weren’t there!”

“I was there! I stayed with you until you fell asleep. The only reason I left was because I had to get out of there, away from my father—the priest who healed you. I didn’t know what I would do if I stayed.”

“Get out,” she said hoarsely. “Get out. Don’t come back.”

He didn’t protest, didn’t argue. She had every right to be furious and he deserved it. He rose stiffly, wanting badly to kiss her once more as his world collapsed around him.

“I’m sorry, Emily. It was selfish and stupid. I’m sorry.”

She was crying and everything inside him wanted to hold her and make it better. She wouldn’t even look at him as he walked to the door.

“I know it doesn’t mean that much right now, but I want you to know that these last few days have been the best in my entire life. You’ve done that for me, Emily.”

“Get out. Please, just get out.” She wouldn’t look at him.

“I love you,” he said so softly he wasn’t sure she heard him.

© 2015 Dellani Oakes

To Buy Dellani’s Books

Leave a Reply

