Uncategorized

On the radio by Karen Vaughan

 

 

In May of 2013 I was guesting on my friends radio show for a special edition of DELLANIS TEA TIME.  The host Dellani Oakes and her lovely assistant Christina Giguere convinced me that I needed my own show.  My first response was “YOU WANT ME TO DO WHAT?”

My husbands in the background shouting  “DO IT, DO IT!”

I was very unsure that I could do it so Dellani graciously invited me to co-host her shows in order to practice.  I decided to take on the venture and started to plan a 2014 debut.  My first guests were of course Dellani and Christina (a.k.a Rachel Reuben).  That was easy as I had been on air with them several times throughout the last two years as a guest.  Hosting on my own was a whole different kettle of fish.

What’s involved?

Rounding up guests every month is easy as a know quite a few authors on face book. I found a great way of guaranteeing that I had a show every month was to schedule a few shows ahead. I have already done 4 and a half shows with great success.

I will explain the  half a show.  Sometimes technical glitches happen. April 8th was one of those days that the radio station we used decided to be the menopausal bitch from hell. Everything that could have gone wrong did.  Not only that, when I went to set up the show i only scheduled it for fifteen minutes. I felt so bad for my guest that I invited the poor man back for the next month. Thankfully the internet radio site we used behaved in May.  You have to be ready for these things. Most radio hosts I know are great at improv. We have to be as well as our assistants if we are fortunate to have them.

Scheduling the show is the next step. I won’t give details as they are tremendously boring but after my snafu in April I am very careful to check the show length section.

Promote! Share, tweet, google and pinterest are a hosts best ways to get the show out there. I found my facebook groups are also great places to promote your show shamelessly and most people are happy to share.

Have fun. Don’t take yourself too seriously. Sure the shows are supposed to be informative but they can be fun too. When you have people in that chat room asking questions things can get fun and out of hand. For example my guest yesterday was a guy who had written several books in a short span of time.  One of the people in the chat room decided to ask what might be considered a delicate question. Wanting to have some fun, I went and asked it anyway.  If you are so like your favorite character why are you still single and do you have a “Carly” in your life.  I think he blushed on the other end but he handled it well.  Things happen in the chat room that make me want to laugh out loud and we have made another host do so.

I love doing my show WRITERS ROUND TABLE. I got the idea from some of the shows I have done with Dellani and Christina where there have been only three of us talking.  We call these round table discussions and they are the most fun of all.

 

2 thoughts on “On the radio by Karen Vaughan”

  1. Aw thanks Karen! I think Dellani noticed that you have a wonderful personality and you gel easily with people. I personally think you’re funny and entertaining which makes for a great show. Like yesterday, I loved how you asked Gary why he was still single? I wouldn’t have had to cojones to do that LOL! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

