Uncategorized

On music, muses and the writing bug. by Karen Vaughan

One of author Dellani Oakes’ favorite questions to ask a radio guest is When did you know you had been bitten by the writing bug.

I was first stung during my high school English classes.  I have always loved the creative writing sections of my classes. I was kind of a loner as a kid and had a lot of time on my hands to create. I basically wrote to kill time and boredom.

Again when I was older I was on medical leave from work.  I was faced with hours of watching the afternoon soaps and staring at the four walls.  I sat down at my computer and created what came to be DEAD ON ARRIVAL. 

What did I do to feed the muse during my writing? Music. I discovered that my muse needed music to operate at full tilt. The genre of choice was and still is classic 70′s rock. Sometimes I go for one hit wonders of the 80′s depending on the story  

If I was never bitten by another bug I am glad it was the writing bug.  I am currently working on the forth book in my series and two other independent stories. So Mr. writing bug, BRING IT ON, BITE ME!

1 thought on “On music, muses and the writing bug. by Karen Vaughan”

Leave a Reply

