Uncategorized

Crawling into the heads of your characters-do u live in them or do they live in you?-Karen Vaughan

Crawling into the heads of your characters

Do you ever feel like you and your characters are too enmeshed? You live in their heads asking what would so and so do here?

Laura: would kick ass and ask questions later getting hurt in the processes and thus pissing Gerry off somehow. Sure they will fight about it but then make up via wild monkey sex.

Leena: Kill off someone who is standing in the critical path of her or someone elses money and tries to justify her actions through righteous entitlement

Tiny Todd. He was picking on me due to my height and needed killin’–and damn his car looked hot so I jacked it –big deal.

Killer T Ford–He looked at my car the wrong way.

Yes and then there’s the opposite:

Several of them have taken up residence in my head and they talk constantly.

Before you go telling people you hear voices; preface that with fact that you’re a writer. Other than that they may want to have you tested for some kind of chemical imbalance if you don’t tell them it’s your characters. O.k. so they tested me anyway. 

I don’t mind when the characters yammer at me but bitch please! have some manners. I am gonna have to get a talking stick or something to keep them in line.

I get a bit perturbed when they don’t talk.  I find it hard to write when this happens. No inspiration to guide me.  You might think that’s a bit out there but I am not the only writer who has this issue. We can’t all be nuts! Well we can but that’s another story.

What do you do for inspiration in this case?  Do you have a back up story to work on?

Do you say to hell with it and resort to a diversionary tactic like NETFLIX ?

So it goes. It’s a vicious circle: I don’t wonder why Hemingway drank was it an addiction or did his characters drive him to it?

 

2 thoughts on “Crawling into the heads of your characters-do u live in them or do they live in you?-Karen Vaughan”

  1. I blog, when my characters aren’t giving me anything to work with. It happens and it’s scary when it’s been a long while. Sometimes as an author you have to use your crafty skills and go back and see if you went wrong somewhere. Is your plot solid? Are your characters fleshed out? Most newbies give up and cite writer’s block. I don’t believe there is such a thing, but I do believe you can get lost in your story. But that’s a subject for another blog post. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

